Design Review Requirements / design review Committee

Design Review Banner 2.jpg

Building & Site Design Standards Committee meets the 3rd Monday of every month

12:30 pm - City Hall Council Chambers

NCC § 34 Design Review Code

Effective March 9, 2021:
Design Review is required in HC, GB1, GB2, BN, BC, DB, DV, DH, RD, RP, RMH and RML zones, for both structures and sites, for the following project types:
1.  New commercial structures.
2.  New multiple-family (3+ units) residential developments (three and four dwellings only require administrative review).
3.  Non-single-family buildings that are expanded, which expansion is greater than twenty five percent (25%) of the square footage of the existing structure. Design review standards shall only be applicable to the area of new construction or expansion.
4.  Repainting or replacing exterior materials on more than fifty percent (50%) of a building's façade which façade fronts a public right of way.


Applications for design review can be submitted prior to the building permit or can be submitted at the same time. Application fees and review time are dependent upon the square footage of the proposed project. Structures under 5,000 square feet = $210 (10 days by staff) and Structures over 5,000 square feet = $835 (40 days by committee). Click here to view or download a Design Review Brochure for more details.

Design Review Committee

The Committee meets on the third Monday of each month in the Council Chambers at Nampa City Hall. See below submittal deadlines for scheduled committee meeting dates. Review and action by the Committee on design review applications at Committee meetings are not considered public hearings but are open public meetings available to be attended by any interested persons. To view/download Committee agendas, minutes or meeting audio files please visit the Agenda Center. For more information about the Design Review Committee, or to discuss items to be added to an upcoming agenda, please contact Kristi Watkins.

Committee Members

Mike Gable
Jeffery Hatch (2021 Vice Chair)
Meggan Manlove
Aaron Randell
Myron Smith
Chris Veloz (2021 Chair)
Roger Volkert

Submittal Deadline Dates (5:00 pm)

Wednesday, December 23, 2020
Friday, January 22, 2021
Friday, February 19, 2021
Friday, March 26, 2021
Friday, April 23, 2021
Friday, May 21, 2021
Friday, June 25, 2021
Friday, July 23, 2021
Friday, August 27, 2021
Friday, September 24, 2021
Friday, October 22, 2021
Wednesday, November 24, 2021
Friday, December 24, 2021

Committee Meeting Dates (12:30 pm)

Tuesday, January 19, 2021
Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Monday, March 15, 2021
Monday, April 19, 2021
Monday, May 17, 2021
Monday, June 21, 2021
Monday, July 19, 2021
Monday, August 16, 2021
Monday, September 20, 2021
Monday, October 18, 2021
Monday, November 15, 2021
Monday, December 20, 2021
Tuesday, January 17, 2022